Don’t Be A Prisoner!

Don’t allow depression to imprison you another day!

I’m reminded of a movie called Shawshank Redemption.  In one of the scenes a man gets out of jail and so many years had passed that he wasn’t used to moving vehicles and telephones ringing.  Today I think about someone locked up since the 1980’s or the 1990’s.  Imagine going to jail without ever touching or talking on a cell phone or owning a computer, without a thought of what a tablet is.  Imagine never, ever interacting with a touchscreen anything.  Forget about using a speaker phone or who on earth is Suri? Cars that operate without a key in the ignition.  GPS is absolutely frightening to imagine something electronic speaking to you in a vehicle.  Screens that show you how to park still baffle me, so imagine someone in this position.  Imagine when that person opens a computer or a phone and sees a person talking to them in real time and the person on the other end being able to see them looking confused.  Scary thought, hunh?

Now think about yourself or the person that you love who’s dealing with depression.  Think about the day, the week or weeks or even that month of depression.  Think about everything that is happening and being missed out on. It may not be as intense as a decade going by, but life has really moved on.  The chance and opportunity to participate in life has passed by and it is forever unavailable to get back.  You have to start again without memories of the days that were lost.

All is not lost.  The message here is, ‘Don’t Be A Prisoner!’.  Don’t lose those days anymore.  Tell depression to take a backseat in your life.  Declare God’s Word over how you feel.  You are a child of God and you are loved! (1 John 4:10)  Your Father is rich and desires great things for you! (Isaiah 45:3, Jeremiah 29:11, James 1:17)  You are healed! (Isaiah 53:5) You are forgiven! (Psalm 32:1, Ephesians 4:32).

DON’T BE A PRISONER!

Don't be a prisoner (1)

 

23 Replies to “Don’t Be A Prisoner!”

  1. I do not struggle with depression, but friends of mine do. From what they’ve told me, it’s not as easy to get out of as we would want to think. However that being said, your post has such an encouraging message! I think it could also help those struggling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Depression is awful. Unfortunately, it does hour people from time to time. This is why it’s important to share live and hope with those experiencing it. Thank you for commenting.

      Like

  2. It’s so important to me that people understand depression and the ability to live free from it. It’s even more important to me to understand loved ones who deal with depression and to have the ability to be patient with them and understanding. I want to always be in a position to love them through the episode until they can feel great again. Thank you for commenting.

    Like

    1. It’s great to be supportive. Sit and just listen, take them out for a walk, help get them up, out and about. Depression is a mental state where a person feels down for too long. It can be a day, a week, a month and horribly longer. A person can emotionally seclude themselves from the world. I encourage you to be there for someone else and get them back to feeling good about themselves, help them to get help, hold their hand through the process. You can make a difference. Thank you for commenting.

      Like

  3. Depression is a serious thing. I’ve dealt with it most of my life and have finally gotten to the point in my life where I’m happy. Lots of therapy and self-talk. Once you suffer it’s really hard to pull out of. I love how you describe depression as a prison…it’s spot on. You always think no one understands and quite honestly a lot don’t. Thank you for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for being transparent! So many people fail to admit that they’re depressed or have ever been depressed. I’m so happy that you’ve sought therapy and that you are feeling better today! God bless you! It really is a prison, but I’m happy today that you have your FREEDOM!

      Like

  4. I have a family member that is dealing with depression, so I can fully empathize with those that are suffering. It’s a very hard thing that comes in waves. I offer all the support that I can and try to inject sprinkles of light and happiness into her day and let her know how much she’s loved and valued.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The first time my GPS talked to me years ago, I jumped, so I laughed at that line of your post. Though the post is no laughing matter. I get it, we have a person in the family diagnosed, and it’s wonderful that you’re posting to help others understand too.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What an inspiring post. People should be aware that a lot of people experience this and needs someone to talk to or to give them a little push in the right way. Although it is not easy having depression, don’t let it control your life as there is so much more to see and experience in life.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Depression is actually much more serious than how people think it is. One of my friends is suffering from depression and she always tries her best to get over it. The outcome is yet to be seen but I beleve she will overcome her disadvantage one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for posting Linh! I also have loved ones who deal with depression and so I feel for your position (being the supporter). I’ve battled 2 major depressions in my life and I’ve overcome them, but I find it a challenge when I deal with my loved ones. It takes love, time, patience and lots of prayer, but we’ve seen wonderful results. I also have a loved one who deals with bipolar depression and I find that their good days are really good days. It’s a process because depression is really serious, but I can truly say that we seen good days.

      Like

  8. This is a great inspirations.Yes,inside feelings and thoughts are the cause for depression.By allowing such thoughts to go away from your thoughts can help to relax easily.

    Like

Leave a Reply

