Suicide, I’m Saying, “Goodbye”!

Yes, suicide

I’m saying, “Goodbye”

You’ve fought a good fight

Oh yes, you’ve tried

I’ll admit it,

You almost won,

But almost won’t stop me

From saying, “Goodbye”

When I think of your game,

How you wiggled your way in,

All of the time you spent with me,

Playing a friend,

You spoke to me daily

And never missed a beat

Showing me who hated me

Replaying my defeat

Several times I trusted you,

I believed you with my life

Did as you instructed,

And tried to end my life

Even then you were pitiful.

The pills made me sleep

The drinks made me weak

The marks from cuts were deep

Marks that remind me of your part

In trying to ruin me

You thought that you destroyed me

I thought you did too,

Even when there weren’t attempts

You were in my mind too.

You told me I was worthless,

Rejected and of no use.

I believed that all of my dreams,

Died while listening to you

Yes, I remember every lie that you told

The memory has taught me

To protect my soul

I remember when you said

I never could

And now I consider

How much stronger I am now,

I’m good.

Your pressure and stress

Had me in a mess

A mess that became blessed

Once I withstood the test

I gave God my mess

Yes, right, you guessed

The same mess that you said

Would do me in

I took it all and gave to Him

I gave God my tears,

My fears, my rejection

My disappointment

He took it all freely

And unlike you didn’t say,

It will cost me

Instead He showed me

How He paid the price

For my life

And was only waiting for me

To realize it

Now that I’ve given my life

Back to Him

My hopes, dreams,

And visions are back.

I can see clearly now

I am loved by God

I can do all things through Him

He strengthens me

He cares for me

His love has renewed me

No longer do I feel

Inadequate

Unwanted

Neglected

No, Suicide

Our time together is done

My thoughts about myself are good

I’ve chosen to live and not die

I’ve chosen life over death

For my ashes I now have beauty

My mourning has turned to dancing

Times may get rough

But I am now determined to

Press on

Into newness

Press on

With my dreams

Press on

In this new life God has given me

So, Suicide…you see

I’m saying Goodbye

I don’t like you and

Don’t need you

Don’t talk to me and

Don’t walk with me

I don’t need you

Good Bye

Good Bye

Good Riddance and

Good Bye

Written by Dona Young 8/13/14

 

http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

Leave a Reply

