When Life Disappoints You…

What do you do when life disappoints you…?

We all experience those days.

You never heard the alarm clock.  You’re running late.  Your pet vomits in front of the door way.  You forgot to sign paperwork that’s needed today. The car is acting up.  You don’t have the exact change for the bus/train.  You bang your bad foot against the door.  There’s an accident on the highway.  Your boss/teacher has warned you about being late and to make matters worse, they don’t like you.

There are many other scenarios that we encounter that may differ from the ones above, but we do understand that there are days when everything seems to go wrong.  It feels like one big disappointment after another.  This situations may even seem minor.  We could be facing a trial, losing our homes, dealing with the loss of a loved one or anything that makes the little disappointments seem pale in comparison.

In the 15th and 16th chapters of 2 Samuel, King David, is dealing with a disappointing time in his life.  His son, Absalom, wants to replace him on the throne, in his home and is trying to end his life!  David is beyond disappointed, he’s grieving.  It was at this time of extreme disappointment and grief that he said the prayer recorded in the 3rd Psalm.

Lord, how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me.  Many there be which say of my soul, There is no help for him in God. Selah. But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.  I cried unto the LORD with my voice, and He heard me out of His holy hill. Selah. I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the LORD sustained me.  I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about. Psalm 3:1-6

David was a mess!

David’s faith kept him through a very, very ugly time in his life.  Here he was running for his life, from his son.  We can’t imagine his position and if you can, I pray that you have the strength to trust God to save you, because God saved David from this situation and avenged him too!

Are you in a mess?

Are you trusting God to keep you in, even while dealing with disappointments in your life?  Are you running to God instead of away from the problems? Do you believe that God can lift you up and bring you above the disappointing areas in your life?

When Life Disappoints

4 Replies to “When Life Disappoints You…”

  1. Oh goodness, I was shaking my head yes as I read through your post. I feel like I’m usually a big hot mess since I relocated last year. I know it sounds crazy, but moving so far from home, even though I’ve always wanted to live at the beach, has been so much harder than I thought. When I think about the disappointments that came with that move, I realized just a few months ago that living here and vacationing here are not only very different things but emit very different feelings as well.

    Like

  2. Great write up!! I usually say life has no explanation for what we go through. Howeverwhat always matters is the attitude we put up whenever we face such trials. Attitude, not neccessarily the problem itself. With the right attitude and mindset, wecan make those moments easier to address than if we used the wrong one. And of course God being at the center of all things.

    Like

  3. Learning to deal with disappointment is so crucial in life and something many of us will never truly master. There’s actually a song I love called “Hereos” that talks about “dancing upon disappointment.” That one line moved and changed me in so many ways!

    Like

Leave a comment